What You Need to Know About Florida’s Helmet Law

July 28, 2017 12:02 am Published by 1 Comment

Whether you are a beginner to riding bicycles or consider yourself an expert downhill mountain biker, you will have heard about the necessity of wearing a bike helmet in Naples, FL. Bike helmets have been proven to reduce the risk of head injury by 88 percent and reduce the risk of facial injury by 65 percent. Wearing a helmet is always recommended, particularly on high-traffic roads, other busy areas and during more dangerous forms of the sport such as mountain biking.

Many states in the United States have passed laws that require riders to wear bike helmets while riding, since the risk of injury or fatality while bike riding can be high, especially for children. When you are riding your bike, it is very important for you to understand the laws your state has in place concerning the wearing of helmets. Here is a quick guide to what you need to know about helmet laws in the United States and in the state of Florida.

Bike helmet laws in the state of Florida

The state of Florida requires that all cyclists aged 16 or younger wear a bike helmet while riding. Additionally, any bicycle passengers aged 16 or younger, such as children riding in a bicycle trailer, must also wear a helmet, whether they are passengers on the sidewalk, road or other public roadway.

Helmets worn by these adolescents must meet federal guidelines. When purchasing a helmet, look for a sticker from the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). This will ensure that the helmet has been tested and meets federal helmet safety regulations. All bike helmets should be firmly affixed on the rider’s head.

Florida does not have any laws regulating bike helmet use by persons over the age of 16, although it is recommended that riders of all ages wear a helmet to protect themselves from injury.

Bike helmet laws across the U.S.

Currently, 22 states and the District of Columbia have laws that require bicycle riders under a specific age to wear a helmet while riding. These ages vary across the country. Some states require riders aged 11 and younger to wear a helmet, while others require all riders as old as 17 to wear one.

No states have laws that require adult cyclists to wear a helmet. As mentioned previously, though, it is highly recommended that adults wear helmets while riding, as well.

Know the regulations

If you or your child is preparing to ride a bicycle, it is very important that you look into the regulations that your state enforces. Additionally, some local ordinances may be enforced in particular areas. Be sure to stay informed on bike helmet and riding regulations to avoid fines and, most importantly, to stay as safe as possible.

If you’re in need of a new bike helmet in Naples, FL, stop by Big Momma’s Bicycles! For over 10 years, the team at our full-service bicycle shop has provided bike sales and rentals, bike accessories and critical repair and tune-up services to riders of all levels. Come see us today!

Categorised in:

This post was written by Writer

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *